Reviews

What people are saying about The Godalming Hotel




Excellent value for money - Rating 4/5

Nice en-suite single room, with everything you need plus a small bottle of wine and water provided. Full English breakfast included in the price - it's very good value.

Reviewer:Jane A | Tue 16th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


my stay - Rating 5/5

a very clean and comfortable hotel clean tidy rooms (a good size)good size shower, freshly cooked breakfast not pre heated or in bay-mare,overall a place I would recommend and indeed have booked for the rest of year

Reviewer:Michael C | Fri 12th Dec 2014 | 4 years ago


Comfortable, clean and amazing value - Rating 4/5

This is a great little hotel and amazing value for what you get. It's a bit out of the way for those without a car but still convenient for Farncombe train station. Rooms are very comfortable, clean and contemporary. The free wine is a nice touch. There's a good choice at breakfast, with a cooked option available. Staff are friendly. Wifi is a bit spotty in the rooms but, overall, useable. A very comfortable stay - thank you.

Reviewer:Adeline J | Fri 12th Dec 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent Value - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my five nights stay in the Godalming Hotel - the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable!! Friendly atmosphere and the staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Frances L | Tue 9th Dec 2014 | 4 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Cheap, clean, pleasant service. Overall good value for money.

Reviewer:Peter R | Thu 4th Dec 2014 | 4 years ago


Good place to stay near Guildford - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel with very attentive staff and lovely rooms.Great (quiet) location perfectly situated for Godalming, Guilford and also central London with a fast connection from Guildford to Waterloo

Reviewer:Mr. Chris A | Fri 28th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


Will stay again - Rating 4/5

I found The Godalming Hotel very pleasant the modern decore was spotlessly clean and the Manager extremely helpful and kind assisting with my luggage as i walk with a walking stick.I reccomend this hotel and will use again next time I visit my son at Guildford Uni.

Reviewer:Gilly S | Wed 26th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

I have needed to be in the Godalming area many times in the last year. I always stay at this hotel. I have found it to be reasonably priced, clean and comfortable, with staff who are consistently helpful. It will always be my first choice when I visit Godalming.

Reviewer:Miss. Margaret W | Tue 25th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


Simple done well - Rating 5/5

This is a simple, small hotel. I was made welcome on arrival, asked what time I wanted breakfast and if there was anything I needed.I was in one of the attic rooms, and the room itself was rather small (but the so was the price!). However, it had everything that I needed (tea/coffee/wine/water) and everything was scrupulously clean. I slept well, had an excellent shower and was then served a good quality breakfast. Nice to be able to give such a positive review.

Reviewer:Dr. Richard H | Sun 23rd Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


AWSOME dog friendly hotel - Rating 5/5

I use this hotel when doing mud runs in the Ash Ranges with my dog. They allow the dog and are very friendly and they also do a brill breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. James E | Sun 23rd Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


Parent - Rating 5/5

Goldaming Hotel has a fantastic staff. They are very accommodating and the bed and breakfast feel is quaint.

Reviewer:Vivian H | Sun 23rd Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 3/5

Great location for my visit to a nearby venue.Small single room, but quiet.Good shower with plenty of hot water.

Reviewer:Gill H | Thu 13th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


women plus dog - Rating 4/5

So nice to find a good higher standard, clean hotel that takes a dog.The cooked breakfast was very unspiring though, however juice and cereals etc. excellant.

Reviewer:Ms. Ann S | Sun 9th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


good choice - Rating 5/5

I booked this hotel on few hours before needing it so I just looked for reasonably priced sleep in the area I need to wake up at. I was really surprised how good the place was. It is a small hotel but I was actually waited for in person by the receptionist who waved me the way to the parking. This hotels shows that to make a guest feel valued you don't need a large reception desk with paid smile behind the counter. I was surprised how sparklingly clean everything was. The only minus-you do hear snoring from the next room so don't forget earplugs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay in the area..

Reviewer:Joanna B | Wed 23rd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Godalming- Rating 4/5

Love the hospitality, breakfast and the room has internet. The town is a walk away

Reviewer:Vivian H | Mon 21st Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


good place to stay - Rating 4/5

good friendly service, good clean room,good full english breakfast,reasonable price.

Reviewer:Robert C | Mon 21st Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Godalming - Rating 3/5

A friendly service. Slept in a one bed without an ensuite. Don't be put off my room had a big sink in the room . Theshared shower and toilet was clean and I did not have to wait once. Although only one toilet and one shower so could be an issue. Breakfast had a cereal, coffee, juicewhich was lovely. Only point is that the cooked breakfast is on the small side but I am sure if you ask you would get more. In summary an average hotel that is clean and does the job.

Reviewer:Edward D | Wed 16th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Stay at Godalming Hotel.- Rating 3/5

Very comfortable beds and a good shower.Friendly staff and a decent breakfast. happy to use again.

Reviewer:Mr. Avijit M | Tue 15th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Godalming hotel - Rating 5/5

Very clean, good quality fixtures and fittings and a reasonable breakfast for a very fair price. Stayed twice and will be staying again

Reviewer:Mr S | Sat 29th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Very welcoming - Rating 4/5

We found our room to be spacious, clean and the ensuite was good. There was a tv, hairdryer and kettle with coffee etc, all what you would expect from a hotel chain. The breakfast was also very good. and the rate was good. My only criticism would be no handle on the door so you had to wait for the door to close properly.

Reviewer:Donald S | Fri 19th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Over night stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed in hotel overnight on the 14th Julymade very welcome when we arrived which was earlier than check in time room was cleaned very quickly so that we could get changed which we were very grateful for, though the hotel is in a busy road the traffic practically stops over night so we had a good nights sleep good room very large bathroom, room no 1, breakfast was very good and quick

Response

Mr Hall - thank you very much for taking the time to give this kind review.Best regards/Andrew

Reviewer:Mr K. H | Tue 16th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


good hotel - Rating 4/5

good hotel to stay.This is our 4 times.

Reviewer:Wittaya A | Tue 19th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Great service, amazing value - Rating 4/5

Thankyou. I can't fault the service at the hotel. They were attentive, polite and welcoming. A little flustered perhaps, but that was because they seemed so eager to please! The room was great value as I just needed a place to rest my head as I was on a course. I will stay there next time, in fact, I have already rebooked. ;0)

Reviewer:Miss. Tessa S | Mon 11th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay and would recommend to anyone for whatever the occasion would be for staying here. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Eva W | Mon 11th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Stay in Feb '13 - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant stay from1st Feb for a couple of days. Rooms very clean and warm. I think less food would be wastedif we were asked in advance what items we would like for the cooked part of our breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Patsy M | Mon 4th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Very good, will reccomend - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfortable, excellent value for money.Good breakfast and friendly staff.WiFi signal is very weak and intermittent

Reviewer:Mr. Alan M | Thu 10th Jan 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Nice hotel and comfortable stay.Clean and well decorated and a hearty breakfast.Staff are very willing to listen to any special requests.It was really good to get an early check-in to attend a wedding

Reviewer:George H | Thu 10th Jan 2013 | 5 years ago


02/07/2012 - Rating 5/5

room quite small, not much room around the bed but on a plus side room was immaculate, breakfast 1st class and hotel owner very attentive and helpful

Reviewer:Linda P | Mon 2nd Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


The Godalming Hotel - Rating 5/5

A lovely hotel and was as described. The room was clean and well presented. The greeting was warm and welcoming. The breakfast was good.A lovely hotel which I hope we can use again in teh future.

Reviewer:Mr. Tim S | Sun 1st Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Wedding Party - Rating 4/5

The room was nice, the bathroom lovely, a room on the back of the hotel meant that we didn't hear a thing at night and slept well.Other members of the family also stayed over so we took over the living area, as there was no bar we popped out to sainsburys to get some wine and nibbles.If the weather had been better then we would have walked into Godalming but we got taxis very easily.We would stay again but would take some drinks with us as there is no bar, breakfast was very good.

Reviewer:B | Tue 26th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


All very nice - Rating 4/5

The hotel is nice and clean, the staff is very friendly. The cooked breakfast is simple but tasty. All in all it has been a pleasant stay and I will most likely come back.

Reviewer:Julia N | Mon 25th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


one night - Rating 3/5

I stayed just the one night the room was clean and tidy with the usual tea coffee etc. My breakfast was a good standard but the portion was small.

Reviewer:Paul F | Fri 22nd Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Decent hotel - Rating 5/5

All as advertised. Pleasant check in. Well fitted clean room & communal areas. Good breakfast, all with minimum fuss.

Reviewer:Gary F | Wed 20th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


1 night stay - Rating 4/5

Very helpful staff. Single room was compact but clean and quiet. I would stay there again.

Reviewer:Kerry H | Mon 18th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Very Welcoming - Rating 4/5

Stayed for 1 night, had a large van due to moving our son to Godalming no problem with parking. Very impressed we could check in at 1.30 most hotels at later than that which can be a problem. Made welcome everything in room you need very clean, breakfast very nice.The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is the stair carpet up to the rooms was quite dirty so does not give a good first impression and no hand towels in bathroom. Would stay again and recommend to anyone.

Response

Thank you for the review.The stair carpet does get a lot of traffic but we are due to clean all the carpets in the hotel and I will hopefully be able to bring this a bit forward.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gina C | Mon 11th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Godalming Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel was very clean and very handy the the centre of town, the staff were very helpful would recommend this as a place to stay when in Godalming

Reviewer:Mr. Derek H | Sun 10th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


I would stay here again - Rating 4/5

Very friendly, lovely hotel, good location. Although my room was small it was clean and had everything we needed.

Reviewer:Miss. Louise A | Mon 17th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

This is the second time I have stayed here and I am fairly sure there will be a third. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a good breakfast. For someone who never normally bothers leaving comments, the fact that I've written this says it all.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew G | Sun 16th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Good solid hotel - Rating 3/5

Good independant hotel. Worth the money. Two suggestions for improvements. 1) A door to the back of house kitchen and washing areas should be put in the keep the noise and food smelles at bay. 2)As alot of guests are there for weddings it would be better to have a later breakfast time.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul T | Sat 15th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


recent stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed 2 nights to attend surrey hills wood fayre. Hotel was welcoming and good value for money. Would stay there again

Reviewer:Mr. Gary J | Mon 10th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Stayed for a wedding at Loseley Park. Good value B& B

Reviewer:Miss. Sally S | Tue 4th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

We were very happy with our stay in the Godalming Hotel. The rooms were modern and clean and the service was excellent.Very good value for money

Reviewer:Mr. PeterK | Mon 3rd Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Godalming Hotel - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Godalming Hotel as we needed somewhere for one night as we were moving house.The hotel is a 'hidden gem' in Godalming - lovely rooms, great service and very reasonably priced.Thanks for a great stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Harvey W | Mon 3rd Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

Clean room, plenty of space, comfy bed, quiet,lovely breakfast, would highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven A | Mon 27th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Friendly and comfortable - Rating 4/5

Hotel is very clean and comfortable whilst the staff are very helpful and friendly.Ample parking space and close to Godalming town centre.

Reviewer:Mr. ELTONB | Tue 21st Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Nice hotel - Rating 4/5

Two really good nights in the hotel. We felt well. Best for us was the service:welcome and serving breakfast, this man did a great job.

Reviewer:Mr. Jörg M | Sun 12th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


. - Rating 4/5

stayed just one night. the hotel was clean and tidy and served a great breakfast.if im in the area i would stay at the godalming hotel again.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul H | Tue 7th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Would definitely stay again - Rating 3/5

The hotel is very modern and comfortable although our room was quite small. The staff were extremely accommodating in allowing us to check in early. One thing that does need addressing is a handrail for the outside steps. We had 2 elderly people in our group who found the steps difficult to navigate. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan K | Tue 31st May 2011 | 7 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

We found the hotel very comfortable and clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. Good value.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter B | Tue 24th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent Value- Rating 4/5

A very clean, tidy and comfortable hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter H | Tue 24th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Hotel Comment - Rating 3/5

Stayed o/night 3/5/11. Nice hotel. To call it a well appointed B& B would be an injustice. No bar, or evening dinner option, but many pubs and a good indian restuarant within walking distance.Rooms were in keeping with the images on the website.Staff helpful. Breakfast good.Would I go back?Always the acid test - a firm yes.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve W | Thu 5th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Wonderfully relaxing stay - Rating 4/5

We booked into the Godalming Hotel as we were attending a wedding locally, and though we were only there for one night it was a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay.A warm welcome on arrival, contemporary design complimenting the building's original features and our room was very clean and comfortbale, especially the bed!A hearty breakfast rounded off a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Rob B | Tue 26th Apr 2011 | 7 years ago


Hotel review - Rating 4/5

Lovely clean rooms and nicely decorated with a good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharna O | Sat 23rd Apr 2011 | 7 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • City Breaks
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays